Mangaluru, Karnataka

About the Foundation

Late A. Shama Rao

Founder of Srinivas Group

Abhisheka sukta defines life as being meaningful and a source of inspiration to fellow beings. The only right way of leading human life is by serving mankind. The greatest luminaries, Sri. A.Shama Rao & Smt. Indiramma Shama Rao are amongst those few who served mankind from darkness to light.

Our founder late A. Shama Rao, born in 1909 at Aroor, a village in Udupi Taluk got his early education in Katapady, Udupi and Mangalore and later obtained B.A. and L.T. Degrees from Madras University. His interests in different walks of life led him to take up such varied courses as secretarial practice, scouts training and first aid.

There is a woman behind every successful man. Smt. Indiramma Shama Rao supported the founder in all walks of life not just being his wife, but a friend philosopher and guide.

Late Shri A. Shama Rao began his illustrious teaching career in Mangalore in 1939. He was the founder Headmaster of the well known S.V.H. Higher Secondary Residential School from 1943 to 1956. He retired as Headmaster of B.E.M. High School, Mangalore in 1969.

Even after retirement, he continued to be active in the field of education and social service. He passed away at the age of 83, on 28th December 1992. Indiramma Shama Rao passed away on 5th December 2009 at the ripe age of 92.

It was the firm belief of our founder Adka Shama Rao and Shrimathi Indiramma that education is a tool to transform society. Today, the foundation sponsors a plethora of educational institutions, which constantly strives to realize their dreams and ideas. A.Shama Rao Foundation was established in the year 1988 with the avowed aim of imparting education which could mould the character of the students and make them responsible citizens of the country.

A. Shama Rao Foundation
Srinivas Group of Institutions

Shri CA. A. Raghavendra Rao

Chartered Accountant, President
Srinivas Group of Colleges

Dr A.Srinivas Rao

Srinivas Group of Colleges

Smt. A. Vijayalakshmi R. Rao

Srinivas Group of Colleges

Smt. A. Mitra S. Rao

Srinivas Group of Colleges

Smt. Padmini Kumar

Srinivas Group of Colleges